close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Database List

A to Z Databases

Search for people and businesses, conduct market research, and discover business opportunities.

Access Video On Demand - Master Public Library Collection

Access Video on Demand features more than 13,000 videos and 207,000 video segments in eight comprehensive collections.

American History Online

Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.

Beanstack

Beanstack is your portal for all our reading challeneges. Check back often for new challenges and events. You can also download the Beanstack app on the Apple App Store or Google Play Store and then search "Bridgeport Public Library."

BookBrowse

BookBrowse is an online magazine for booklovers - including reviews, previews, "behind the book" backstories, author interviews, reading guides, and much more.

BookFlix

Online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks with related nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to build a love of reading and learning.

Chilton Library

Provides access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs 

Clio

Clio is your guide to the history around you and has 7,847 historical entries from all across the country. 

Consumer Health Complete

Supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine. 

e-WV

The West Virginia Encyclopedia is the comprehensive reference resource for the Mountain State of West Virginia.

Explora

Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Provides profiles of nearly 3,400 jobs and 140 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, thousands of resource entries, and more!

FreedomFlix

Online resource that transforms content from the highly successful Cornerstones of Freedom series into enhanced eBooks.

Freegal

Freegal® Music is a free music service from your library. The catalog includes over 16 million songs and millions of albums. In total the collection is comprised of music from over 40,000+ labels with music that originates in over 100 countries. Free apps are available at the App Store and Google Play. Freegal offers 3 downloads per week to keep forever and unlimited streaming, 7 days a week.  Listen to songs, albums, playlists, and create your own playlists.

Gale Virtual Reference

This digital reference library features thousands of titles from over 100 publishers on an award-winning eBook platform.

GreenFILE

This research database draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Heritage Quest

Comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources — rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.

Hoopla

Allows you to instantly stream (or download via the hoopla app) eBooks, eAudiobooks, comic books, movies, television shows, and music.

Infobase eBook Collection

The Infobase eBook Collections offers thousands of nonfiction eBooks which makes it an ideal platform for scholarly research across a wide variety of subjects. No checkout is required.

Infobase Heath Reference Center

This important health reference resource helps improve analytical and decision-making skills, addresses social pressures and influences, and provides functional health knowledge that encourages people to practice healthy behaviors.  

iVox Children's Books

iVOX is a children’s book app for ages 3-8, which engages curious young minds with the latest in storytelling technology. Available for download on iPhone and Android.

Job & Career Accelerator

Explore over 1,000 different occupations and discover the career that's best for you. Create professional resumes and cover letters. 

Just for Kids Video Collection

Just for Kids Video Collection gives children a thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-fee media platform they can freely explore and enjoy.

LawDepot

Receive unlimited access to thousands of legal forms across all categories, including Real Estate, Business, Human Resources, Family, and more.

Learning Express Library

Offers students and adults unlimited, 24/7 access to targeted skill–building interactive courses in math, reading, writing, and software applications.

Mango Languages

Training courses for 63 languages including English, Spanish, French, German, Mandarin, Japanese, and even Pirate!

Niche Academy

Watch tutorials on several eResources available to you with a Bridgeport Public Library card

NoveList Plus

Comprehensive source of information about books that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.

NoveList K-8 Plus

NoveList K-8 Plus is a database about books specifically for younger readers. It helps them find books that are just right for their reading level.

Points of View

Contains resources that present multiples views of issues. This database provides rich content that can help students better understand controversial topics and develop analytical thinking skills. 

Scholastic Go!

Explore nonfiction texts, world newspapers, videos, and more on several core-curriculum subjects for grades 2 and up.

Scholastic Teachables

Offers unlimited access to thousands of printables. Save hours of prep time with this database that offers 25,000+ ready-to-go lessons and activities for every subject and skill level.

ScienceFlix

Engaging science-based digital resource for students in grades 4 through 9.

Science Online

Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.

TrueFlix

Online resource that uses the award-winning True Books content to help students learn literacy skills and build knowledge.

Universal Class

Over 500 online non-credit continuing education courses. Users can enroll in up to 5 courses and have up to six months to finish each course. Courses are accessible 24/7 via the Internet.

Weiss Financial Ratings Series Online

This resource gives you tools to protect your finances, invest wisely, grow your wealth, and learn more about your finances. (To log in using your library card number, use prefix "BPL" in front of your card number. Ex: BPL2230000000)

West Virginia Division of Culture and History

The site features primary and secondary source documents, photographs, and databases; lists collections available in the State Archives; and provides research guides and assistance for genealogists.

Weston Woods Plus

Stream the best in children's literature from anywhere! Watch as popular children's books come to life through high-quality animated videos! Titles have read-along options for beginning readers, closed captioning for hearing impaired readers, Descriptive Video audio tracks for blind and visually impaired readers, and many stories have bilingual versions in either Spanish or Mandarin. 

World Almanac for Kids

Presents resources for homework, reports, and projects in a fun format while encouraging online research skills from a trusted source.

World Book

Suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, and more.

World Book Kids

Access or children's books, encyclopedias, activity books and more!

World News Digest

Authoritative world news coverage from 1940 through today: provides information, context, and perspective.

Writer's Reference Center

Provides the essential one-stop online reference for writers, with all the tools necessary to write and research effectively.

WVDeli

Allows you access a collection of eBooks, Audiobooks, and magazines on your browser, or on your device using the Libby app.